2017 Hearst National Championships Winners Announced


Junior at Harvey in the Castro, Photo Note Harvey Milk’s picture on wall behind: Pic: Melanie Nathan©

Special congratulations to first place winner of the Hearst National Championship Annual Multi-Media Competition: Claire Collins, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, who themed an LGBT refugee.  I was also pleased to participate in the short winning piece – especially because it gives this important issue some mileage – helping create awareness.   I wrote about the particular refugee she featured in the piece, who I had helped in his trajectory, in our story published in December 2014 – “From The Congo to the Castro.” HERE

The winning college journalists in the National Writing, Photojournalism, Radio, Television and Multimedia Championships were announced on June 1, 2017 by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, during the final awards ceremony in Alexandra’s Ballroom of The Westin St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco.

The Hearst Championships are the culmination of the 2016 – 2017 Journalism Awards Program, which are held in 106 member colleges and universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs.

This year’s 14 monthly competitions garnered 1,267 entries in the 14 monthly competitions.

From May 29th through June 1st, 29 finalists – all top winners of the monthly competitions – participated in the 57th annual Hearst Championships in San Francisco where they demonstrated their writing, photography, radio, television and multimedia skills in rigorous on-the-spot assignments. The assignments were chosen by media professionals who judged the finalists’ work throughout the year and at the Championships.

The following are the first, second and third-place winners and the scholarships they received:



The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, was founded in 1960, to provide support, encouragement, and assistance to journalism education at the college and university level. The program awards scholarships to students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism, with matching grants to the students’ schools. The 56th annual program offering up to $500,000 in awards, consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions (one in radio and two in television), and four multimedia competitions – with championship finals in all divisions. Participation in the program is open to undergraduate journalism majors currently enrolled in ACEJMC – accredited
domestic universities.

One thought on “2017 Hearst National Championships Winners Announced

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.